• Frequently Asked Questions

    Our blog features a wealth of knowledge pertaining to some of the most frequently asked family law questions.

    Read More
  • Sign Up For Our Free E-Course

    Click here to sign up for our free E-Course on Divorce! It has been specifically created to help people who are considering divorce and wish to learn more about the divorce process

    Sign Up Now
  • Schedule Your Free Consultation Now

    Schedule a risk-free consultation today and we can assess your case.

    Book Now
  • Meet With a Finance Specialist

    Discuss payment plan options and more with a finance specialist.

    Get Started Now
  • Texas Divorce Handbook

    Read about the divorce process in Texas, and receive a valuable offer worth $350 inside!

    Learn More
  • Download Our Free E-Book

    16 Steps To Help You Plan & Prepare For Your Texas Divorce.

    Download Now

Texas Divorce and Family Law Cases and Parenting Classes

The purpose of this blog article is to answer common questions regarding parenting classes in their family law or divorce case involving children.

Can a Texas Court order me to Take a Parenting Class?

The Texas Family Code has a provision related to taking a Parent Education and Family Stabilization Course. While the provision does not require the taking of one of these courses, many of the family law courts in Harris County and Montgomery County Texas do require the completion of one of these courses.

These courses can be ordered in a cases affecting the parent-child relationship, including divorce, an action to modify an order in a suit affecting the parent-child relationship providing for possession of or access to a child, the court may order the parties to the suit to attend a parent education and family stabilization course if the court determines that the order is in the best interest of the child.

These courses ordered are typically four hours long but can be as long as 12 hours in length. They are designed to educate parents to the consequences of divorce or custody battles on children.

What must be covered in a court ordered parenting class in Texas?

Pursuant to Texas Family Code Section 105.009, the course must cover following issues:

  1. the emotional effects of divorce on parents;
  2. the emotional and behavioral reactions to divorce by young children and adolescents;
  3. parenting issues relating to the concerns and needs of children at different development stages;
  4. stress indicators in young children and adolescents;
  5. conflict management;
  6. family stabilization through development of a coparenting relationship;
  7. the financial responsibilities of parenting;
  8. family violence, spousal abuse, and child abuse and neglect; and
  9. the availability of community services and resources.

Do I have to take the Class with the Other Parent?

The parties to the suit may not be required to attend the course together.

The court, on its own motion or the motion of either party, may prohibit the parties from taking the course together if there is a history of family violence in the marriage.

In Harris County, Texas Local Rule 12 states that:

“Except for good cause shown, in all divorces joined with suits affecting the parent-child relationship, the court shall require parents to attend an educational program for divorcing parents. In its discretion, the court may also refer parents involved in modification or enforcement litigation, or a child involved in any type of custody litigation, to an education course or for counseling.

In protective order cases authorized by Chapter 85, Tex. Fam. Code. the court may refer a party to a batterers' treatment program.”

In Montgomery County, Texas Local Rule 4.6 states:

“Referral shall be made in suits affecting the parent-child relationship requiring the parents' attendance at an educational program for divorcing parents, except for good cause shown. In the discretion of the court, such a referral may also be made for parents involved in modification or enforcement litigation.

Counseling may also be ordered in appropriate cases as authorized by the Family Code, including referral to a family violence program pursuant to a protective order under Chapter 71 of the Family Code.”

Who is allowed to offer the Parenting Class?

  1. a mental health professional who has at least a master's degree with a background in family therapy or parent education; or
  2. a religious practitioner who performs counseling consistent with the laws of this state or another person designated as a program counselor by a church or religious institution if the litigant so chooses.

Can My Spouse Use Information that I Disclose in the Class Against Me?

No, information obtained in a course or a statement made by a participant to a suit during a course may not be considered in the adjudication of the suit or in any subsequent legal proceeding.

Any report that results from participation in the course may not become a record in the suit unless the parties stipulate to the record in writing.

What If I do not take the Class?

Under the Texas Family Code a “court may take appropriate action with regard to a party who fails to attend or complete a course ordered by the court under this section, including holding the party in contempt of court, striking pleadings, or invoking any sanction provided by Rule 215, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure.

The failure or refusal by a party to attend or complete a course required by this section may not delay the court from rendering a judgment in a suit affecting the parent-child relationship.”

What if I already took the Class?

Depending on the Court if you have taken the class in the last 6-12 months you may not be required to take it again.

Do I have to be physically present to take the class?

No necessarily under the Texas Family Code the following methods of instruction are acceptable:

  1. personal instruction;
  2. videotape instruction;
  3. instruction through an electronic medium; or
  4. a combination of those methods.

In reality it depends on the judge. That is why I have created the below table on what different Family Law Courts will accept.

What does a Parenting Class Cost?

Prices range from $25-$70.

Do not Wait to Take the Class

If you are required to take the class do not wait to the last moment to take the class. I have had more than one client show up to prove up there divorce or custody case and the judge will not let us continue because the class has not been completed.

That is why I always discuss the parenting class requirement on our first consult and provide my clients with a list of places where they can complete the class.

What do I do with my Parenting Class Certificate?

You will give your certificate to your Lawyer as soon as possible so that it can be filed with the court.

If you are representing yourself it is your responsibility to file it with the Court.

Harris County, Texas Family Law Court Parenting Class Requirements

Harris County, Texas Family Courts requirements regarding parenting classes.

Montgomery County, Texas Family Law Court Parenting Class Requirements

List of Places offering Parenting Classes

  • All Parents who are parties in Divorce with Suit Affecting Parent-Child Relationship (SAPCR) or motions to modify custody MUST attend a course in a Parent Education Program
  • This Program is not about how to parent, but about what you and your child will experience during a divorce/custody case
  • Parents gain the most benefit when they attend early in the case
  • It is recommended that you and the other parent attend at separate times, not together
  • Some programs waive or reduce fees based on your financial need
Book an appointment with Law Office of Bryan Fagan using SetMore

Ebook

If you want to know more about what you can do, CLICK the button below to get your FREE E-book: 16 Steps to Help You Plan & Prepare for Your Texas Divorce

Other Articles you may be interested in:

  1. How a Parenting Class Can Help Me and My Ex-spouse Co-parent in Texas?
  2. 6 things You Need to Know Before You File for Divorce in Texas
  3. I Want a Texas Divorce but My Husband Doesn't: What can I do?
  4. Can I sue my spouse's mistress in Texas?
  5. 6 Tips - On How to prepare for a Texas Divorce
  6. Roadmap of Basic Divorce Procedure in Texas
  7. Child Custody Basics in Texas
  8. 6 Mistakes that can Destroy Your Texas Divorce Case
  9. 10 Quick Tips About Parental Visitation
  10. Does it Matter who Files First in a Texas Divorce?

Law Office of Bryan Fagan | Houston, Texas Divorce Lawyers

The Law Office of Bryan Fagan routinely handles matters that affect children and families. If you have questions regarding divorce, it's important to speak with one of our Houston, TX Divorce Lawyers right away to protect your rights.

Our divorce lawyers in Houston TX are skilled at listening to your goals during this trying process and developing a strategy to meet those goals. Contact Law Office of Bryan Fagan by calling (281) 810-9760 or submit your contact information in our online form. The Law Office of Bryan Fagan handles Divorce cases in Houston, Texas, Cypress, Klein, Humble, Kingwood, Tomball, The Woodlands, the FM 1960 area, or surrounding areas, including Harris County, Montgomery County, Liberty County, Chambers County, Galveston County, Brazoria County, Fort Bend County and Waller County.

Comments

No Comments Posted
  • Frequently Asked Questions

    Our blog features a wealth of knowledge pertaining to some of the most frequently asked family law questions.

    Read More
  • Sign Up For Our Free E-Course

    Click here to sign up for our free E-Course on Divorce! It has been specifically created to help people who are considering divorce and wish to learn more about the divorce process

    Sign Up Now
  • Schedule Your Free Consultation Now

    Schedule a risk-free consultation today and we can assess your case.

    Book Now
  • Meet With a Finance Specialist

    Discuss payment plan options and more with a finance specialist.

    Get Started Now

Contact Us

Law Office of Bryan Fagan
Spring Divorce Attorney
Located at: 17101 Kuykendahl Rd,
Houston, TX 77068
View Map
Phone: (281) 810-9760
Office Hours:
Mon-Fri 8 AM – 6 PM
Saturday- By Appointment Only
Website:
© 2017 All Rights Reserved.

Disclaimer

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.