I previously discussed in another article how to get more money after a car accident (click here to see the previous article) the issues with getting in an auto accident and how to get more money in your pockets. I also discussed how the settlement is commonly divided between the client, lawyer, and the treating doctors, with each usually getting 1/3rdof the settlement. This article will discuss auto insurance policy limits for your injuries in Texas and how much you can get.
Policy limits for commercial vehicles:
In the next section, I will discuss policy limits for personal vehicles, much less than commercial vehicles. However, the limits depend on the type of vehicle for commercial vehicles.
Texas requires a minimum $500,000.00 injury policy for any commercial vehicles used within Texas state lines.
If the vehicle is used to travel across state lines, federal law controls. The following are the limits for vehicles used to travel across state lines:
- $300,000 for trucks weighing less than 10,001 lbs. and transporting nonhazardous materials.
- $750,000 for trucks weighing at least 10,001 lbs. and transporting nonhazardous materials.
- $1 million for trucks transporting oil.
- $5 million for trucks carrying hazardous materials.
For commercial vehicles that travel across state lines and can fit 16 or more passengers, such as buses, the minimum limit is $5 million. If the exact vehicle can only carry 15 or fewer passengers, the limit is $1.5 million.
Policy limits for personal vehicles:
For personal vehicles, policy limits are much lower. Currently, policy limits for personal vehicles in Texas are $30,000 per person for your injuries with a maximum of $60,000.00 coverage. For example, if there are passengers in the vehicle, insurance would only be required to pay $60,000.00 maximum for everyone combined. Further, the limits for property damages, which are the damages to your vehicle, are at $25,000.00; this is known as the 30/60/25 coverage.
Does this mean no matter what happens, this is what I am limited to?
Not necessarily, but this is the maximum you can get from the insurance company unless an insurance company denies a Stowers Demand. I will discuss the Stowers Demand in a follow-up article. You can also decide not to go after the insurance or reject their offer and sue the vehicle owner directly. In most cases, it is best to get the money you can from an insurance company because of the limitation Texas law puts on a collection of judgments from individuals, which I will also discuss in a follow-up article.
To learn more about Texas Car Insurance Laws & State Minimum Coverage Limits visit: https://www.expertinsurancereviews.com/texas-car-insurance-laws/
Suppose you have been involved in an accident or have some questions. You are looking for a car accident attorney in North Houston, a car accident attorney in the Woodlands, a car accident attorney in Tomball, Cypress, FM 1960, Galveston, and surrounding areas; call Amir Tavakkoli, Houston from the A.T. Law Firm for a free consultation. We also handle cases in different counties, including but not limited to Harris County, Montgomery County, Liberty County, Chambers County, Galveston County, Fort Bend County, Waller County, and Brazoria County. Contact the A.T. Law Firm by calling (832) 800-5590 for a free consultation.